2013 .. the year that was …

Well, another year has come and gone and I love to look back and remember the highlights, before looking forward the next year.

In 2013, I understood a lot more about life and what it means to get older; we held the final memorial service for my dad, and although he will always remain the most important man in my life, I am glad to not have to go through that again; my family and friends remain the most important part of my life and making new friends from here and all over the world, will always be important to me; I cleaned out a lot of people in my life who brought negative energy and will continue to do so until my last breath; I am the happiest I have been in a long time in my life and turning 40 will only help clarify and ground me even more.

Now for the fun stuff:

 This was the year of conventions:

  • Ottawa Comic-Con
  • Fan Expo in Toronto
  • Montreal Comic-Con

I can’t believe I was blessed enough to meet Nathan Fillion twice in one year. And then I added Sean Astin to the mix and Stephen Amell to end it all.  Amazing. I met some awesome people at various events (you know who you are). It was definitely a memorable year.

 Movies were another big part of my year …

  • Gangster Squad
  • Lincoln (although we only got through half of it so not sure it counts)
  • Die Hard
  • Oblivion
  • Iron Man 3
  • Star Trek into Darkness (twice)
  • Man of Steel
  • Much Ado About Nothing
  • We’re the Millers
  • Wolverine
  • World’s End (twice)
  • Serenity
  • Catching Fire (twice)
  • American Hustle
  • The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary special

 Other entertainment events:

  • Billy Elliott
  • Rock of Ages
  • The Nutcracker
  • Britcom at Just for Laughs
  • MacBeth (National Theatre broadcast at the AMC)

All in all, I am thankful that I got to enjoy as much as I did this year. Entertainment, laughter and celebrating my passions with other, like-minded people, are always highlights for me. The older I get, the more I realize that we are only here for a short time period and we need to enjoy our time doing whatever it is that makes us happy.

 2014 is a huge year for me. I will be turning the big 4-0! I have been taking stock of my life lately, and have come to some minor and one major decision, all of which will be revealed as the time comes to fulfill them. I will start my year with my 2 wonderful tattoos coming in less than 2 weeks. They will be symbols of my passions and they will mark my 40th year on this earth.

 Some lessons I would like to impart: Don’t live for other people, don’t care about anyone’s opinion of you, don’t make unworthy people the center of your life, get rid of anyone that brings you down (no matter who they are), surround yourself with beauty and all things that make you happy and always remember …

 “We’re all stories in the end … make it a good one, eh?”

One thought on “2013 .. the year that was …

  1. Meeting Nathan Fillion twice in one year. Amazing. Sounds like it has been an awesome year for you! I hope to still be reaching these types of goals in the looming years that will lead me to 40. Doesn’t seem so bad when I know there are others like me out there!

Leave a Reply

