I’m a leaf on the wind …

I love TV and movies. I love books. all these passions have lead me yo be a part of many different fandoms. Lord of the Rings, Doctor Who, Harry potter, sherlock, star trek, game of thrones … the list goes on and on.

I’ve had the privilege and the honour of being a part of a very special family for many years now. This group of people is passionate and friendly and kind. We are kind to each other and kind to the world. 

We are Browncoats. We are fans of Firefly and Serenity. I’m pretty sure that when Joss Whedon created this little western about this renegade group of thieves set in space, he could never have imagined what else he created. a community so loyal and so genuinely nice that every year, we raise money for his favourite charity. We do it because we care. 

Year after year, at every Con, Firefly actors are some of the most popular guests. I got to thinking why and the answer was quite clear. Because what Joss created was a family. The crew of Serenity were a family. The cast remains a family, even though the show ended many years ago. They treat us as an extended family because they never forgot where they came from. We feel that, every year, every Con … we feel it in their hugs and their smiles. Their thank yous and their honesty.

Being a Browncoat has brought me some of the greatest joys in my life. It is a community so full of love and I am so proud to be a part of it.

Today we lost a member of that family. I am so saddened by the loss of our Shepherd Book, but I am so comforted by the messages of love and friendship from Browncoats around the world. Comforted, but not surprised. After all …

“When you can’t run, you crawl. And when you can’t crawl, when you can’t do that … you find someone to carry you.” 

Leave a Reply

